In Shock: My Journey from Death to Recovery and the Redemptive Power of Hope

22 September 2019 | By Rana Awdish | Filed in: nursing.

A first person account from a young critical care physician describes how toward the end of her medical training she suddenly became a patient fighting for her own life, revealing how her experiences exposed her to flaws in today s care standards and how to better embrace the emotional bond between

The Reluctant Midwife (Hope River #2)

22 September 2019 | By Patricia Harman | Filed in: nursing.

The USA Today bestselling author of The Midwife of Hope River returns with a heartfelt sequel, a novel teeming with life and full of humor and warmth, one that celebrates the human spirit The Great Depression has hit West Virginia hard Men are out of work women struggle to feed hungry children Lu

The Shift: One Nurse, Twelve Hours, Four Patients' Lives

22 September 2019 | By Theresa Brown | Filed in: nursing.

In a book as eye opening as it is riveting, practicing nurse and New York Times columnist Theresa Brown invites us to experience not just a day in the life of a nurse but all the life that happens in just one day on a hospital s cancer ward In the span of twelve hours, lives can be lost, life alter

Nightingales Under the Mistletoe (Nightingales #7)

22 September 2019 | By Donna Douglas | Filed in: nursing.

Christmas 1941 and the nurses at the Nightingale are facing their toughest winter yet With shortages everywhere, and every news bulletin announcing defeats and losses, the British people are weary and demoralised and The Nightingale Hospital is suffering too Millie is recently widowed and dea

Nightingales at War (Nightingales #6)

22 September 2019 | By Donna Douglas | Filed in: nursing.

As the war takes its toll, the Nightingale nurses must do their bit for king and country Dora is the devoted mother of twin babies but, determined to help the war effort, she goes back to work at the Nightingale Hospital More used to nights out in the West End, Jennifer and Cissy volunteer in the h

The Nurses: A Year of Secrets, Drama, and Miracles with the Heroes of the Hospital

22 September 2019 | By Alexandra Robbins | Filed in: nursing.

In this lively, fast paced narrative, New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Robbins digs deep into the subculture of nursing, drawing readers into a brilliantly captivating in depth investigation of the extraordinary working lives of nurses and the shocking behind the scenes secrets that all p

Nightingales on Call (Nightingales #4)

22 September 2019 | By Donna Douglas | Filed in: nursing.

From the author of The Nightingale Girls, The Nightingale Sisters and The Nightingale Nurses perfect for fans of Call the Midwife 1937 sees new challenges for the trainee nursesDora and her old enemy Lucy are paired up on the children s ward for the final three months of their training The two nu

These Healing Hills

22 September 2019 | By Ann H. Gabhart | Filed in: nursing.

Francine Howard has her life all mapped out until the soldier she planned to marry at WWII s end writes to tell her he s in love with a woman in England Devastated, Francine seeks a fresh start in the Appalachian Mountains, training to be a nurse midwife for the Frontier Nursing Service Deeply aff

A Nightingale Christmas Wish (Nightingales #5)

22 September 2019 | By Donna Douglas | Filed in: nursing.

As Christmas 1938 approaches, the staff at the Nightingale Hospital have their own wishes for the festive season Ward sister Frannie Wallace is hoping she won t have to live through another war like the one that claimed her beloved fiance But with bomb defences going up all around London, it seems